Texas Children’s Hospital

Texas Children’s Hospital, a not-for-profit health care organization, is committed to creating a healthier future for children and women throughout the global community by leading in patient care, education and research. Consistently ranked as the best children’s hospital in Texas, and among the top in the nation, Texas Children’s has garnered widespread recognition for its expertise and breakthroughs in pediatric and women’s health. The hospital includes the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute; the Feigin Tower for pediatric research; Texas Children’s Pavilion for Women, a comprehensive obstetrics/gynecology facility focusing on high-risk births; Texas Children’s Hospital West Campus, a community hospital in suburban West Houston; and Texas Children’s Hospital The Woodlands, the first hospital devoted to children’s care for communities north of Houston. The organization also created Texas Children’s Health Plan, the nation’s first HMO for children; Texas Children’s Pediatrics, the largest pediatric primary care network in the country; Texas Children’s Urgent Care clinics that specialize in after-hours care tailored specifically for children; and a global health program that’s channeling care to children and women all over the world. Texas Children’s Hospital is affiliated with Baylor College of Medicine.

Baylor College of Medicine in Houston is recognized as health sciences university and is known for excellence in education, research and patient care. It is the only private medical school in the greater southwest and is ranked 22nd among medical schools for research and 17th for primary care by U.S. News & World Report. Baylor is listed 20th among all U.S. medical schools for National Institutes of Health funding and No. 1 in Texas. The Baylor pediatrics program ranked 7th among all pediatric programs, reflecting the strong affiliation with Texas Children’s Hospital where our faculty care for pediatric patients and our students and residents train. Located in the Texas Medical Center, Baylor has affiliations with seven teaching hospitals and jointly owns and operates Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center. Currently, Baylor has more than 3,000 trainees in medical, graduate, nurse anesthesia, physician assistant, orthotics and genetic counseling as well as residents and postdoctoral fellows.

Site PI: Angela Bachim, MD

Angela Bachim is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and an attending physician at Texas Children’s Hospital. Her research interests are accurate diagnosis of child abuse as well as upstream child abuse prevention strategies.

Research Development: Christopher Greeley, MD

Christopher Greeley is Head of the Section of Public Health and Child Abuse Pediatrics at Texas Children’s Hospital.  He is Professor and Vice-Chair for Community Health in the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine.  He received his medical degree from the University of Virginia in 1992 and complete internship and residency in pediatrics at Vanderbilt University.  He received a Masters in Clinical Research from the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston, with a special concentration on Comparative Effectiveness Research.  He is board certified in General Pediatrics as well as Child Abuse Pediatrics, and is a member of the AMA and the AAP.  He also served on the Board of Directors of Prevent Child Abuse America from 2005-2014 and was Chair for 2009-2013.  Dr. Greeley was the 2006 Ray E Helfer Award winner.  The Ray E Helfer Award is an annual award jointly presented by The American Academy of Pediatrics and The National Alliance of Children’s Trust and Prevention Funds “to a distinguished pediatrician for his or her contribution to the prevention of child abuse and neglect.”  He is the immediate past-president of the Ray E. Helfer Society; the international society for physicians working in the field of child maltreatment.  He has chaired Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Task Force for Texas since 2009.  He was elected to the American Pediatric Society in 2017.  In 2021 he received the Helfer Society Award from the Ray E. Helfer Society for his “distinguished contributions to the field of Child Abuse and Neglect”.

%d bloggers like this: